Evil Avatar  



Go Back   Evil Avatar > Geek Love > PC Hardware and System Building

» Sponsored Links


» Recent Threads
Burma/Myanmar, where we...
Last post by Terran
Today 02:38 PM
51 Replies, 12,458 Views
‘The Witcher’ Renewed...
Last post by Terran
Today 02:35 PM
2 Replies, 184 Views
Disney+ Launches with...
Last post by Terran
Today 02:33 PM
13 Replies, 746 Views
Pure Evil - Job...
Last post by Terran
Today 02:32 PM
26 Replies, 959 Views
Liberals gone wild
Last post by Terran
Today 02:30 PM
5,010 Replies, 1,104,042 Views
PLAN 8 Debut Trailer,...
Last post by Robberbaron
Today 01:22 PM
3 Replies, 188 Views
Crimson Desert Debut...
Last post by Robberbaron
Today 01:17 PM
2 Replies, 184 Views
Post something good you...
Last post by PacerDawn
Today 11:38 AM
94 Replies, 33,955 Views
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2015, 07:50 PM   #1
blackzc
Evil Dead
 
blackzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: I am boot, hear me win!
Posts: 7,148
Sound card help!!

I recently had to buy a sound card after forgetting to unplug my rig while installing a wireless card. I saw the spark. I got lucky it only took out my sound. Sound through HDMI (video card) still worked. On board and Fpanel were dead.

Anyway, the card works fine, but, i run a 30ft HDMI cable to my TV and it gets used for games, videos, ect.

The problem is when the HDMI cable is plugged in it basically disables the card. So i have to unplug it to get my sound back on the desk or for headphones. This is a pain as we are constantly back and forth.

Any ideas on how i can get around this? I have no XP with sound cards.
__________________
Nintendo: A guiding light in a sea of video game degeneracy
blackzc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 07:59 PM   #2
brandonjclark
Evil Dead
 
brandonjclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,996
Well, first of all, adjust your Windows sound settings. I think you can adjust default playback devices separately for things like headphones and speakers. Or buy a receiver and plug in desk speakers and headphones into that. Sorry, not much help.
__________________
~B$
Gamertag: legisilverback | Steam Nickname: brandonjclark
...playing Rebel Galaxy
brandonjclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 07:59 PM   #3
zeonxavier
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fort Bragg
Posts: 690
Get a DVI adapter for your HDMI cable and use your DVI port for video instead. Route audio directly to your speakers, and you're back in business if nothing else is fried.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by C.S. Lewis View Post
Of all tyrannies, a tyranny exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive.
zeonxavier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 08:23 PM   #4
brandonjclark
Evil Dead
 
brandonjclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonxavier View Post
Get a DVI adapter for your HDMI cable and use your DVI port for video instead. Route audio directly to your speakers, and you're back in business if nothing else is fried.
That's a brilliant solution!
__________________
~B$
Gamertag: legisilverback | Steam Nickname: brandonjclark
...playing Rebel Galaxy
brandonjclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 09:41 PM   #5
blackzc
Evil Dead
 
blackzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: I am boot, hear me win!
Posts: 7,148
Thanks for the suggestions guys. I was hoping to find a software fix as i didnt have this problem before i bought the card. I did find the setting to switch default outputs. So i just created a shortcut and will switch back and forth as need be.

Computers man!
__________________
Nintendo: A guiding light in a sea of video game degeneracy
blackzc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 11:36 PM   #6
Rommel
International Playboy
 
Rommel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 10,268
Buy a new motherboard. Even with the separate audio PCB they run these days, I wouldn't run my other expensive components on an already fried and damaged base.
Rommel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 06:05 AM   #7
blackzc
Evil Dead
 
blackzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: I am boot, hear me win!
Posts: 7,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rommel View Post
Buy a new motherboard. Even with the separate audio PCB they run these days, I wouldn't run my other expensive components on an already fried and damaged base.

Ive been thinking about this.. I just bought this dam MOBO after an ATX plug shorted out. Its wasn't a cheapy either..Everything seems to be fine, played BF4 for 2 hours last night. MY CPU is a couple year old FX8350, my card is a Radeon 7770, RAM is cheap. Im gonna take my chances. Fuckit

Im pretty sure risk to hard drives is minimal, thats all i really care about
__________________
Nintendo: A guiding light in a sea of video game degeneracy
blackzc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 01:01 PM   #8
screwyluie
Evil Dead
 
screwyluie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 2,423
so you want sound to the tv and headphones at the same time? the same sound? Install Virtual Audio Cable and use the repeater utility. Microsoft in it's infinite wisdom removed this feature after windows XP.

this thread has good info about setting it up: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...90492f1?auth=1

if you do not want the tv to have sound, go into the playback devices and disable the hdmi audio or set your soundcard to the default.

Sorry I'm sure exactly what it is you're trying to do, and with this particular topic you'll have to be very specific as the solution is very use specific.
screwyluie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 03:40 PM   #9
blackzc
Evil Dead
 
blackzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: I am boot, hear me win!
Posts: 7,148
Ahh, that works great. Thanks alot!

Yes i want sound to play through PC speakers and TV at the same time (which is ran to stereo). I generally end up turning the TV off to kill the sound if i want to use headphones on the PC. But yeah this fixed it, thank you!
__________________
Nintendo: A guiding light in a sea of video game degeneracy
blackzc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 PM.