Evil Avatar  



Go Back   Evil Avatar > Geek Love > PC Hardware and System Building

» Sponsored Links


» Recent Threads
Escape from Tarkov Beta...
Last post by BlackSabbath
Today 11:20 AM
11 Replies, 492 Views
Star Wars: The Rise of...
Last post by EL CABONG
Today 10:03 AM
3 Replies, 133 Views
Black Desert Halloween...
Last post by Mozain
Today 09:45 AM
3 Replies, 72 Views
Rainbow Six Siege -...
Last post by Evil Avatar
Today 09:22 AM
1 Replies, 64 Views
DOOM 64 Official...
Last post by Mad Max RW
Today 09:18 AM
2 Replies, 140 Views
Sea of Thieves Content...
Last post by Evil Avatar
Today 08:59 AM
2 Replies, 78 Views
Borderlands 3 Bloody...
Last post by Azrael
Yesterday 10:51 PM
6 Replies, 425 Views
Liberals gone wild
Last post by SpectralThundr
Yesterday 10:36 PM
4,834 Replies, 1,054,915 Views
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2012, 11:21 PM   #1
randir14
Subscriber
 
randir14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,462
SSD questions

I was thinking of buying a 128gb Samsung 830, but I had some questions.

1) Do I need to reinstall Windows or will it work immediately after plugging it in? I ask this because I have an Asus motherboard and I saw someone on Tom's Hardware say that Asus boards require a Windows reinstall for new hard drives.

2) If a Windows reinstall is NOT required, can I just drag games from my current HDD to the SSD? Or do I need to install Windows and the games on the SSD?
randir14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:01 AM   #2
lockwoodx
Photobomber
 
lockwoodx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: on tap
Posts: 23,709
Blog Entries: 2
a: Depends more on your bios than the motherboard, but older boards do have issues. I made sure I bought a SSD friendly board for that very reason (I heard sabertooths had issues so I went with ASRock. Couldn't be happier)

b: Just make sure you only put things on your SSD that are very CPU/calculation intensive so you get the most use out of yours.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by AspectVoid View Post
I had no idea he was posting awesome stuff that would get the ads cancelled.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkumaATR View Post
Lock is untouchable though, he's too cool to be targeted, like ever. He's Detroit's Heisenberg!
lockwoodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 12:49 PM   #3
Syl
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 6,872
Blog Entries: 2
If your motherboard requires you to reinstall windows to detect a new harddrive, you have a shitty fucking motherboard and a shitty fucking copy of windows. Whoever told you that is probably naive.

You can, in theory, drag the game to the SSD. The only problem is generally going to be with the registry. If your games are on STEAM, you should really use something like SteamTool to move games one by one and very safely.

Some games without steam tool might transfer fine, some may give you issues, reinstalling them should solve any problems.

You have no reason to install Windows on your SSD if you don't want too, but honestly, 99% of the reason to have an SSD is to have your windows boot drive on the SSD, so you WILL want to move your primary partition and windows to the SSD so you can see the most benefits of the hardware upgrade.
Syl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 02:00 PM   #4
randir14
Subscriber
 
randir14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,462
Thanks, I'll probably just install Windows and the games on the SSD. I only have 72 gb used on my current HDD so space shouldn't be a problem.
randir14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 02:30 PM   #5
Meusli
Subscriber
 
Meusli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England
Posts: 3,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by randir14 View Post
I was thinking of buying a 128gb Samsung 830, but I had some questions.

1) Do I need to reinstall Windows or will it work immediately after plugging it in? I ask this because I have an Asus motherboard and I saw someone on Tom's Hardware say that Asus boards require a Windows reinstall for new hard drives.

2) If a Windows reinstall is NOT required, can I just drag games from my current HDD to the SSD? Or do I need to install Windows and the games on the SSD?
I just bought the 256gb version and am looking forward to reinstalling everything. Even if it is a days job.
__________________
Steam ID: Meusli
Gamertag: Meusli
Meusli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 02:44 PM   #6
Evil Avatar
Citizen Game
 
Evil Avatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 35,392
Blog Entries: 20
I have two SSD drives, but the biggest problem I ran into is that Windows is a bloated hog of a piece of software and even with almost nothing installed I still almost ran out of space on my C: drive.

Microsoft stuff is complete crap. Thank god I can ignore Windows 8 because of that horrific touch-screen based interface.
__________________
I'm bad, and that's good. I will never be good, and that's not bad. There's no one I'd rather be than me.
Evil Avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 02:57 PM   #7
Syl
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 6,872
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meusli View Post
I just bought the 256gb version and am looking forward to reinstalling everything. Even if it is a days job.
You have an SSD.

I don't think you understand just how much of an improvement it is.
Syl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:17 PM   #8
Meusli
Subscriber
 
Meusli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England
Posts: 3,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syl View Post
You have an SSD.

I don't think you understand just how much of an improvement it is.
Still have to download the Windows updates and then sort out my steam library on my traditional HDD. Like you say it will be quicker I just have no idea how much.
__________________
Steam ID: Meusli
Gamertag: Meusli
Meusli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:40 PM   #9
Syl
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 6,872
Blog Entries: 2
It took me 15 minutes to install vanilla windows 7 and every single windows update. 10 minutes of that was simply downloading the updates.

As for steam, I have so many steam games that I keep them on my separate HD, i then use SteamTool (linked above) to transfer games to my SSD whenever i'm playing them oftenly, then I move them back to my STEAM HD for everything else.
Syl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:53 PM   #10
Meusli
Subscriber
 
Meusli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England
Posts: 3,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syl View Post
It took me 15 minutes to install vanilla windows 7 and every single windows update. 10 minutes of that was simply downloading the updates.

As for steam, I have so many steam games that I keep them on my separate HD, i then use SteamTool (linked above) to transfer games to my SSD whenever i'm playing them oftenly, then I move them back to my STEAM HD for everything else.
Nice, but don't be offended if I don't believe you. It sounds truly impossible.
__________________
Steam ID: Meusli
Gamertag: Meusli
Meusli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 05:43 PM   #11
Anenome
Autarchist
 
Anenome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Recursion City
Posts: 49,889
Blog Entries: 62
I think you're almost crazy to buy anything except an Intel SSD these days. Sandforce is where it's at. Buy at least 250gb. Those gigs go fast these days.

Both my regular HDDs need to be RMA's, so I'm living purely on my SSD, so with windows and all programs reinstalled I have... 54gigs left.
__________________
Choose your government: the majority ruling the minority, the minority ruling the majority, or everyone ruling themselves long as they do not initiate force, fraud, or theft against one another.
Anenome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 08:10 PM   #12
Syl
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 6,872
Blog Entries: 2
I have a 128 gig SSD and 6 terabytes of other harddrives. works well for me. (I did buy my SSD over a year ago, it was over 2x the price they are now)
Syl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 05:23 AM   #13
Meusli
Subscriber
 
Meusli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England
Posts: 3,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anenome View Post
I think you're almost crazy to buy anything except an Intel SSD these days. Sandforce is where it's at. Buy at least 250gb. Those gigs go fast these days.

Both my regular HDDs need to be RMA's, so I'm living purely on my SSD, so with windows and all programs reinstalled I have... 54gigs left.
I got the one that Rock, Paper, Shotgun recommended, by all accounts the are very reliable.
__________________
Steam ID: Meusli
Gamertag: Meusli
Meusli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 07:34 PM   #14
Technidon
Evil Dead
 
Technidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ABQ,NM
Posts: 396
This is quite funny due to me just getting a SSD last weekend.

1. Intel is WAY overpriced... there are some companies that are offering a excellent sweet spot and they are OCZ Samsung Corsair and Kingston... I prefer OCZ due to their deal with sandforce.

2. The trick that evil did not notice (and I did not until today) is to remove the index option from the windows folders and its subfolders this will remove the excess 35gbs of bloat that windows has inherently built into it to "run" faster (this is huge if you have a SSD smaller than 90Gbs). You will not need it due to the architecture of the SSD.

3. NEVER I repeat NEVER defrag your SSD... and also remove the superfetch option from windows and also DO NOT allow for it to use page file on the SSD.. It will lower the life of the SSD over all.

Well this is what I have found... Oh and just to let you know I have windows vista x64 ultimate... and it was a royal pain to get it streamlined but once I have it here... I boot in no more than 25 seconds... yes that is 25 and I only have 3gbs SATA mobo... thats awesome!
__________________
PC!!! The only format that will allow for me to still play my nintendo games with out having to pay for them over again!!
Technidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 07:48 PM   #15
randir14
Subscriber
 
randir14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technidon View Post
This is quite funny due to me just getting a SSD last weekend.

1. Intel is WAY overpriced... there are some companies that are offering a excellent sweet spot and they are OCZ Samsung Corsair and Kingston... I prefer OCZ due to their deal with sandforce.
I was looking at the OCZ Vertex 3 since it's only $90 for 120gb on Newegg, what is Sandforce?
randir14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 08:53 PM   #16
brandonjclark
Evil Dead
 
brandonjclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by randir14 View Post
I was looking at the OCZ Vertex 3 since it's only $90 for 120gb on Newegg, what is Sandforce?

Just bought into that product. Make sure you have the latest Intel Chipset. You'll hit nearly 500mb/s on that fucker, no shit.
__________________
~B$
Gamertag: legisilverback | Steam Nickname: brandonjclark
...playing Rebel Galaxy
brandonjclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:57 PM   #17
Anenome
Autarchist
 
Anenome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Recursion City
Posts: 49,889
Blog Entries: 62
Guide on optimizing Win7 for an SSD:

http://www.briteccomputers.co.uk/for...dows-7-tweaks/
__________________
Choose your government: the majority ruling the minority, the minority ruling the majority, or everyone ruling themselves long as they do not initiate force, fraud, or theft against one another.
Anenome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 06:45 AM   #18
Meusli
Subscriber
 
Meusli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England
Posts: 3,496
Quick question to those in the know. I have disabled indexing with the program included on the disk but now my music/video libraries(win7 64bit) are showing as unresponsive. Do I leave this as it is or can I turn indexing on, on my old HDD?
__________________
Steam ID: Meusli
Gamertag: Meusli
Meusli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 07:04 AM   #19
lockwoodx
Photobomber
 
lockwoodx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: on tap
Posts: 23,709
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meusli View Post
Quick question to those in the know. I have disabled indexing with the program included on the disk but now my music/video libraries(win7 64bit) are showing as unresponsive. Do I leave this as it is or can I turn indexing on, on my old HDD?
I'd love to provide an answer but I don't keep music on this computer so it's never been an issue.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by AspectVoid View Post
I had no idea he was posting awesome stuff that would get the ads cancelled.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkumaATR View Post
Lock is untouchable though, he's too cool to be targeted, like ever. He's Detroit's Heisenberg!
lockwoodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 07:58 AM   #20
Technidon
Evil Dead
 
Technidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ABQ,NM
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meusli View Post
Quick question to those in the know. I have disabled indexing with the program included on the disk but now my music/video libraries(win7 64bit) are showing as unresponsive. Do I leave this as it is or can I turn indexing on, on my old HDD?
yes... sadly the SSD search times are do stupid fast that the OS is waiting too long on the HDD... so you will need to keep it on with that and also put the page file on that drive as well.
__________________
PC!!! The only format that will allow for me to still play my nintendo games with out having to pay for them over again!!
Technidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.